Sales Tax Rate In $locality North Dakota 2022 Williams County, North Dakota Sales Tax

Local Sales Tax - Williams County



2022 Williams County sales tax
Exact tax amount may vary for different items
Tax Jurisdiction Sales Tax
North Dakota State Sales Tax 5.00%
Williams County Sales Tax 1.00%
City Sales Tax N/A
Special Sales Tax N/A
Combined Sales Tax 6.00% [Is this data incorrect?]

Download North Dakota sales tax by county, city, and zip code Download all North Dakota sales tax rates by zip code

The Williams County, North Dakota sales tax is 6.00% , consisting of 5.00% North Dakota state sales tax and 1.00% Williams County local sales taxes.The local sales tax consists of a 1.00% county sales tax.

  • The Williams County Sales Tax is collected by the merchant on all qualifying sales made within Williams County
  • Groceries are exempt from the Williams County and North Dakota state sales taxes
  • Williams County collects a 1% local sales tax, the maximum local sales tax allowed under North Dakota law
  • Williams County has a lower sales tax than 79.8% of North Dakota's other cities and counties

Williams County North Dakota Sales Tax Exemptions

WILLIAMS COUNTY - Local sales tax map

In most states, essential purchases like medicine and groceries are exempted from the sales tax or eligible for a lower sales tax rate. Williams County doesn't collect sales tax on purchases of most groceries. Certain purchases, including alcohol, cigarettes, and gasoline, may be subject to additional North Dakota state excise taxes in addition to the sales tax.

Note that in some areas, items like alcohol and prepared food (including restaurant meals and some premade supermarket items) are charged at a higher sales tax rate than general purchases. North Dakota's sales tax rates for commonly exempted categories are listed below. Some rates might be different in Williams County.

Groceries:TAX EXEMPT Clothing:6% Prepared Food:6% Prescription Drugs:1% Non-Prescription Drugs:1%

Williams County Sales Tax Calculator

Williams County Sales Tax Calculator
Purchase Details:
$ in zip code Leave the zip code default for purchases made in Williams County

All merchants operating in Williams County must automatically calculate the sales tax due on each purchase made and include it in separately in the receipt. Goods bought for resale or other business use may be exempted from the sales tax. If you purchase goods online or through the mail and do not pay any sales tax, you are expected to pay use tax to the North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner . For more details, see the North Dakota sales tax.

Williams County Sales Tax Region ZIP Codes

The Williams County sales tax region partially or fully covers 8 zip codes in North Dakota. Remember that ZIP codes do not necessarily match up with municipal and tax region borders, so some of these zip codes may overlap with other nearby tax districts. You can find sales taxes by zip code in North Dakota here

Additional Resources & Disclaimer - Williams County Sales Tax

While we make every effort to ensure that our information on the Williams County sales tax is up to date, we can offer no warranty as to the accuracy of the data provided. Please let us know if any of our data is incorrect, and we will update our database as soon as possible.

Help us keep our data updated!

If you notice that any of our provided data is incorrect or out of date, please notify us and include links to your data sources (preferably local government documents or websites). If we can validate the sources you provide, we will include this information in our data.

Data Accuracy Disclaimer provides sales tax data for "Williams County" on an AS-IS basis in the hope that it might be useful, and we can offer NO IMPLIED WARRANTY OF FITNESS. While we attempt to ensure that the data provided is accurate and up to date, we cannot be held liable for errors in data or calculations we provide or any consequence or loss resulting from the of use of the Data or tools provided by